mlb mascots
Home  |  About Us  | Contact Us | Links

Anaheim Angels : Rally Monkey

 Angels Logo

The Rally Monkey is the official mascot of the Anaheim Angels, a Major League Baseball franchise based in Anaheim, California and aligned in the Western Division of the American League. In 1960, the American League announced plans to place an expansion team in Los Angeles, to begin play in 1961. Gene Autry, former actor and owner of a number of radio and TV stations on the west coast, attended the Major League Owners’ meeting in St. Louis in 1960 in hopes of winning broadcasting rights for the new team’s games. After two different bids to acquire the new AL team failed, it was suggested to Autry that he acquire the team itself. Autry agreed, and purchased the franchise, which he named the Los Angeles Angels after the long-successful PCL team.

During its existence, the team has called three different stadiums home. During the 1961 inaugural season, the Angels played at historic Wrigley Field in South Central Los Angeles, for many years the home field of the PCL Angels. From 1962-1965 the team played at Dodger Stadium as tenants of the Dodgers, though the Angels always referred to their home field as Chavez Ravine (the name of the area in which the stadium is located). In 1966, the Angels left the city of Los Angeles altogether for newly-constructed Anaheim Stadium, now known as Angel Stadium, where they have played ever since.


rally monkey



Angel Stadium, originally Anaheim Stadium and later Edison International Field, is a stadium located in Anaheim, California, in Orange County, California and is home to Major League Baseball's Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. It is often referred to as "The Big A." Angel Stadium has been the home of the Anaheim Angels since their move from Los Angeles. In 1964, ground was broken for Anaheim Stadium and in 1966, the newly-renamed California Angels moved into their new home. In the late 1970s, Los Angeles Rams owner Carroll Rosenbloom made a deal according to which the Rams would move from Los Angeles to an expanded Anaheim Stadium.

The expansion was completed in time for the 1979 NFL season, and the Rams played in Anaheim from then until their move to St. Louis after the 1994 season. In 1996, the City of Anaheim and The Walt Disney Company, owners of the Angels at the time, agreed to a new deal that would keep the Angels in Anaheim until 2031, with an option to leave the facility early in 2018. As part of the deal, the stadium would undergo an extensive renovation, returning the stadium to its original role as a baseball-only facility. In 1997, the Angels officially changed their name to the Anaheim Angels.

The same year, a sponsorship deal was created with Edison International, giving them the naming rights over the stadium for 20 years. However, after the 2003 season, Edison International exercised its option to exit the sponsorship deal. On December 29, 2003, the Angels announced that the stadium would be known as Angel Stadium (in full, Angel Stadium of Anaheim). The field was host to a Major League Baseball All-Star Game in 1967 and 1989 and hosted the World Series in 2002.


Angels player

Just like with athletes, a mascot's popularity and longevity often depend on whether or not the team is winning -- which explains the popularity of the Rally Monkey. In 2000, Anaheim was losing to the San Francisco Giants when a clip of a little monkey from Ace Ventura flashed on the giant video screen with the words, "Rally Monkey." The Angels rallied in the ninth to win and the monkey returned. Anaheim eventually hired their own monkey to film additional clips, as he became the team's late-inning mascot. It wasn't until the 2002 playoffs that the Rally Monkey gained true national exposure. Anaheim defeated the powerful Yankees and the Twins in some close games with the monkey leading the way. Then, when they were down three games to two against the Giants in the World Series, the Angels fought back to win it all -- all thanks to a little capuchin monkey.

MLB Teams:

Arizona Diamondbacks
Atlanta Braves
Chicago Cubs
Colorado Rockies
Cincinnati Reds
Florida Marlins
Houston Astros
Los Angeles Dodgers
Milwaukee Brewers
Montreal Expos
New York Mets
Philadelphia Phillies
Pittsburgh Pirates
San Diego Padres
San Francisco Giants
St. Louis Cardinals
Anaheim Angels
Baltimore Orioles
Boston Red Sox
Chicago White Sox
Cleveland Indians
Detroit Tigers
Kansas City Royals
Minnesota Twins
New York Yankees
Oakland Athletics
Seattle Mariners
Tampa Bay Devil Rays
Texas Rangers
Toronto Blue Jays